Champions of Accessibility

The Champions of Accessibility honors special contributions to VCU's pursuits to provide equal access for all. The awards are presented at the annual TAI Fall Conference and recognize outstanding and innovative projects, initiatives and/or individual efforts that enhance accessibility, independence, and inclusion for people with disabilities and chronic conditions. These champions are individuals, departments, groups, or websites committed to a mission of advocating for accessibility in their community. The recipients show passion and drive for promoting access and are making a large impact on the VCU community.

2020/21 Recipients

2020 and 2021 brought unprecedented challanges to the work we do across higher education. The pandemic had a profound impact on accessibility and inclusion for all members of our society. During these trying times, true champions arose whose dedication, energy, efforts, expertise, and long hours made it possible for our campus to continue its mission of providing a high quality adn accessible educaitonal experience for all students. In response, we felt it ws important to acknowledge the efforts of some of those champions whose work made a  profound and incalculable impact.

Crystal C. Coombes 

Sarah Lineberry

Jane Emerson

Allison Jones

Meera Mehtaji

C. Daniel Foster

Kathy Oliveri

University Student Health Services

The Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence

Residential Life and Housing - Isolation & Quarentine Team


2019 Recipients

Casey Gagliardi 
Undergraduate Student

Lynne Fetter 
Graduate Student

Margaret Kelland
Departmental Partner

Rams in Recovery 
Outstanding Program or Organization

Bethany (bee) Coston 
Faculty - Excellence in Access, Course Content, and Instruction

Stephanie Lau
Faculty - Research

Kevin Wade
Faculty - Student Support

Jennifer Elswick
Digital Access - Individual/Small Group

Tristana Trani
Digital Access - Social Media

Office of Alumni Relations 
Digital Access - Most Accessible (Large Website)

Web Standards & Guidelines 
Digital Access -  Most Accessible (Small Website)

Department of History
Digital Access -  Most Improved (Large Website)

University Controller's Office
Digital Access -  Most Improved (Small Website)

2018 Recipients

Majesta-Dore' Legnini 
Undergraduate Student

Gabrielle Laureles Oblena
Graduate Student

VCU School of Social Work 
Departmental Partner

ACE-IT in College 
Outstanding Program or Organization

Joshua Langberg, College of Humanities and Sciences 
Faculty - Support Program

Elizabeth Getzel, Center on Transition Innovations
Faculty - Research

Isabelle Richman, School of World Studies 
Faculty - Student Support

Department of Biology 
Digital Access - Website (Large Unit)

Department of Physics 
Digital Access -  Website (Medium Unit)

Technology Services 
Digital Access -  Website (Small Unit)